Independent officers and boards

The Authority sets remuneration for a range of independent statutory officers and boards where the holders of the office are required to exercise a high degree of independence.

Benefits such as additional leave, and work related expenses are set by the  organisations concerned, the value of these entitlements are taken into consideration when setting remuneration.

Advice for officials or appointing departments

The Remuneration Authority is often asked about the status of statutory officers and how certain legislative provisions or employment conditions apply to those roles. The Authority has produced a paper, Employment Status and Remuneration of Statutory Officers [PDF 126KB], explaining how the remuneration and terms of appointment of statutory officers are determined, and the role of the Remuneration Authority in that process, with a view to helping officials in administering or appointing departments who advise Ministers on the appointment of persons to statutory roles or who administer the terms of appointment of such persons. The paper should be read in conjunction with the Cabinet Office Circular CO(11) 7 of 21 October 2011, Role of Remuneration Authority in Setting Remuneration for Individuals Appointed to Statutory Bodies and Other Positions.

Current remuneration for independent officers and boards

The remuneration set by the Authority for individual statutory officers is personal to them. Remuneration is set for every new appointment.

For members of independent statutory boards there is a standard fee which applies  to all members.

Details of remuneration are confidential. Information on the remuneration of Chief  Executives and other senior staff in the government departments and agencies, and officers of Parliament is included, in bands, on the State Services Commission website.

Information  on individuals appointed under the Crown Entities Act 2004 whose remuneration is set by the Authority is included, in bands, in the relevant organisations’ annual reports.


The Remuneration Authority is responsible for setting the remuneration of around 100 specified officers, and boards. A list of these is at the bottom of the page.

The two main pieces of legislation identifying these roles are:

The Authority considers and sets the remuneration for statutory officers, other individuals and boards annually, on the basis of the criteria in the Remuneration Authority Act, ss.18, 18A.

In the annual reviews, the Authority considers information, relevant to the above criteria, from a range of sources.

Individual statutory officers and members of statutory boards whose remuneration is set by the Authority are invited to provide any information that they consider relevant to the review, such as any changes to  the nature, scope, complexity, or challenges of the role.

Individuals are also asked to provide information on non-salary remuneration such as extra leave, superannuation, cars, and other benefits. These factors are valued and offset against the total remuneration in setting salary levels.

The Authority has no mandate to take account of  performance in determining remuneration for these, or any other, individuals  within its mandate

Information on the role of the Authority in relation to  these roles, and guidance for Ministers and departments on how the Authority  sets remuneration for these positions, including at the time of appointment, is set out in Cabinet Office Circular CO(11) 7 of 21 October 2011, Role of Remuneration Authority in Setting Remuneration for Individuals Appointed to Statutory Bodies and Other Positions.

Specified officers and boards

List of statutory officers and others for whom the Remuneration Authority sets Remuneration. This list is current as at January 2015.

Chief executives and other senior officers in departments

  • Director, Government Communications Security Bureau
  • Solicitor-General
  • State Services Commissioner and Deputy State Services Commissioner
  • Director, New Zealand Security Intelligence Service
  • Commissioner of Police and Deputy Commissioners of Police
  • Chief Parliamentary Counsel
  • Chief of Defence Force, Chiefs of Air Force, Army, Navy
  • Clerk and Deputy Clerk of the House of Representatives
  • General Manager, Parliamentary Service

Officers of parliament

  • Controller and Auditor-General and Deputy Controller and Auditor-General
  • Ombudsmen, including Chief Ombudsman
  • Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment

Crown entities

  • Broadcasting Standards Authority, Chair and members
  • Children's Commissioner
  • Commerce Commission, Chair, Deputy, members and associate members, Telecommunications Commissioner, Cease and Desist Commissioners
  • Drug Free Sport NZ, Chair and members
  • Electoral Commission, Chief Electoral Officer and Chief Executive, Chair, Deputy Chair
  • Electricity Authority, Chair, members
    • Rulings Panel, Chair, Deputy Chair, members
  • External Reporting Board, members
  • Financial Markets Authority, members and associate members
  • Health and Disability Commissioner
  • Human Rights Commission, Chief Commissioner, members and alternate members, Race Relations Commissioner, Equal Employment Opportunities Commissioner, Director Human Rights Proceedings or alternate
  • Independent Police Conduct Authority, Chair, members
  • Law Commissioner, President, Deputy President, members
  • Mental Health Commissioner and Deputy Health and Disability Commissioners
  • New Zealand Productivity Commission, Chair, Commissioners
  • Office of Film and Literature Classification, Chief Censor of Film and Literature and Deputy Chief Censor of Film and Literature
  • Privacy Commissioner and Deputy Privacy Commissioner
  • Retirement Commissioner
  • Takeovers Panel, Chair, members
  • Transport Accident Investigation Commission, Chief Commissioner, Deputy Chief Commissioner, Commissioner

Tribunals and other bodies

  • Chief Community Magistrate
  • Court Martial, Registrar
  • Employment Relations Authority, Chief and members
  • Judicial Conduct Commissioner and Deputy Judicial Conduct Commissioner
  • Members of Judicial Conduct Panel (unless appointee is a judge)
  • Motor Vehicle Disputes Tribunal, Adjudicators
  • New Zealand Parole Board, Chair, Panel Convenors who hold a warrant as a District Court judge or a Judge of the High Court
  • Principal Disputes Referee
  • Principal Tenancy Adjudicator and Deputy
  • Sports Tribunal of New Zealand, Chair, Deputies, members
  • Summary Appeal Court of New Zealand, Registrar
  • Waitangi Tribunal, members
  • Tribunal under the Weathertight Homes Resolution Services Act 2006, Chair
  • Maori Trustee
  • Masterton Trust Lands Trust, Chair, Committee Chairs, members