Members of Parliament, including the Prime Minister and Ministers

The Authority sets an annual salary for ordinary Members of Parliament and for the Prime Minister, Ministers, Speaker, Leader of the Opposition, Chairs of Committees and certain other roles. It also sets a basic allowance for MPs and determines their superannuation.

Some recoverable work related expenses are set by the Authority, a responsibility that is shared with the Speaker (for MPs) and by the Minister responsible for Ministerial Services (for Ministers).

Current remuneration for MPs, Ministers and other roles in Parliament and the Executive

Information on current remuneration for MPs is in the links below.

This link is to the Parliamentary Salaries and Allowances Determination 2020 which was notified in the New Zealand Gazette on 11 June 2020.  The determination is backdated to 1 July 2019.

This link is to Parliamentary Salaries and Allowances (Temporary Reduction — COVID-19) Determination 2020 which was notified in the New Zealand Gazette on 11 June 2020. This determination applies from 9 July 2020 and expires on 6 January 2021.

Basic allowance for MPs

The Authority also sets an allowance for MPs to cover out of pocket expenditure such as entertainment of visitors, staff, constituents and officials, memberships, sponsorships and fees, koha. Details of the items covered are in the Parliamentary Salaries and Allowances Determination 2015 (2015/41).

This allowance recognises the costs that fall on MPs due to their representative role, and which it is neither administratively efficient nor possible to deal with on a reimbursement basis. The Inland Revenue Department is consulted each year to confirm the continuance of a tax free status which flows from the fact that MPs do not gain personal benefit from the expenditure

Superannuation for MPs

If MPs contribute to a personal superannuation scheme an ‘employer’ contribution is made based on the basic MPs salary.

For MPs elected before 1992, who have served consistently since that date, there is an entitlement to membership of the Government Superannuation Fund (GSF) scheme, which provides for a pension on leaving parliament that reflects years of service.

MPs elected after 1992 are entitled to a contribution which is paid as a lump sum when the MP leaves Parliament. The scheme can be a KiwiSaver, master trust or registered personal superannuation scheme.

The Remuneration Authority Act 1977 says that the maximum amount that can be paid as a superannuation subsidy in any one year must be the same for all MPs.

Where members choose not to contribute to superannuation, no additional remuneration is paid.

Effective date of MPs' salary changes

MPs’ salary determinations are issued annually with a commencement date of 1st July. Because the Remuneration Authority is a follower rather than a setter of salary trends, it is necessary for the Authority to have up-to-date data on remuneration movements in roles broadly similar to the role of an MP, changes in economic conditions, and the usage of members' travel entitlements before it can form any views on appropriate remuneration changes.  Coupled with the statutory requirement to consult before finalising the determination, this means the determination is normally released late in the year and applies from the date of the expiry of the previous determination. The explanatory memorandum appended to the determinations explains in more detail the Authority’s approach.

Accommodation reimbursement and allowances

The reimbursement of specific employment-related costs to MPs is provided for in the Members of Parliament (Remuneration and Services) Act 2013.

Three organisations have responsibility for setting the rules for and the level of these payments. These are the Remuneration Authority, Parliamentary Service and Ministerial Services. All three are required at least once in each parliamentary term to review and publish the arrangements they are responsible for setting.

The Remuneration Authority is responsible for setting:

  • accommodation costs whilst travelling in New Zealand on parliamentary or ministerial business
  • accommodation costs in Wellington for members residing elsewhere
  • travel costs for members' families when joining them on parliamentary or ministerial business.

The payments set reflect the unique employment arrangements on Members who both travel extensively to engage with constituents, civil society groups and businesses, and are required to be in Wellington for a considerable period of the year whilst maintaining homes and community links elsewhere.

When it sets MPs' salaries the Authority assesses any personal benefit members on average receive from the provisions, and takes this into consideration when establishing the level.

Related legislation

The main acts governing remuneration for MPs are:

  • The Remuneration Authority Act 1977, s.12 which gives to the Remuneration Authority the role of setting:
    • salaries and allowances of MPs, superannuation rights and obligations of MPs who belong to the Government Superannuation Fund (closed to new members from July 1992)
    • superannuation rights and obligations of MPs who do not belong to the Government Superannuation Fund.
  • The Members of Parliament (Remuneration and Services) Act 2013. This act replaced the Civil List Act 1979 on 16 December 2013. The act provides for:
    • the Remuneration Authority to fix the salaries and allowances of Members of Parliament.
    • salaries and allowances to differ according to the position an MP holds.
    • arrangements about the payment of salaries and allowances following elections.
    • accommodation services in New Zealand for MPs and Ministers and travel services within New Zealand for MPs and Ministers and their family members.
    • travel, international accommodation, communication and attendance services to be set by the Speaker, for MPs, and by the Minister responsible for Ministerial Services, for Ministers.
    • travel entitlements for former MPs and their spouses or partners
    • travel entitlements within New Zealand for former prime ministers and their spouses or partners