There are two main pieces of legislation that identify these roles:

Remuneration Authority Act (Schedule 4) - NZ Legislation(external link)

Crown Entities Act 2004 (Schedule 1, part 3) - NZ Legislation(external link)

Benefits such as additional leave, and work related expenses are set by the organisations concerned, the value of these entitlements are taken into consideration when setting remuneration.

Current remuneration

The remuneration set by the Authority for individual statutory officers is personal to them. Remuneration is set for every new appointment.

For members of independent statutory boards there is a standard fee which applies to all members.

Details of remuneration are confidential. Information on the remuneration of Chief Executives and other senior staff in the government departments and agencies, and officers of Parliament is included, in bands, on the Public Service Commission website.

Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service Commission(external link)

Information on individuals appointed under the Crown Entities Act 2004 whose remuneration is set by the Authority is included, in bands, in the relevant organisations’ annual reports.

Crown Entities Act 2004 - NZ Legislation(external link) 

The Authority considers and sets the remuneration for statutory officers, other individuals and boards annually, on the basis of the criteria in the Remuneration Authority Act, ss.18, 18A.

Remuneration Authority Act - NZ Legislation(external link)

In the annual reviews, the Authority considers information, relevant to the above criteria, from a range of sources.

Individual statutory officers and members of statutory boards whose remuneration is set by the Authority are invited to provide any information that they consider relevant to the review, such as any changes to the nature, scope, complexity, or challenges of the role.

Individuals are also asked to provide information on non-salary remuneration such as extra leave, superannuation, cars, and other benefits. These factors are valued and offset against the total remuneration in setting salary levels.

The Authority has no mandate to take account of performance in determining remuneration for these or any other individuals within its mandate.

Advice for officials or appointing departments

Information on the role of the Authority in relation to  these roles and guidance for Ministers and departments on how the Authority  sets remuneration for these positions, including at the time of appointment, is set out in Cabinet Office Circular CO(11) 7 of 21 October 2011.

Role of Remuneration Authority in setting remuneration for individuals appointed to statutory bodies and other positions - Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet(external link)

The Authority has also produced a paper that explains how the remuneration and terms of appointment of statutory officers are determined. It covers the role of the Remuneration Authority in that process, to help officials in administering or appointing departments who advise ministers on the appointment of persons to statutory roles, or who administer their terms of appointment.

Employment status and remuneration of statutory officers [PDF, 225 KB]

Specified officers and boards

Below is the list of statutory officers and others for whom the Remuneration Authority sets remuneration, current as at January 2021.

Organisation Roles

Broadcasting Standards Authority

Chair and Members

Children's Commissioner

Children's Commissioner

Climate Change Commission

Chair, Deputy Chair and Members

Commerce Commission

Chair, Deputy Chair, Member and Associate members and Telecommunications Commissioner

Criminal Cases Review Commission

Chief Commissioner, Deputy Chief Commissioner and Commissioners

Crown Law


Court Martial


Defence Force

Chief of Defence Force, Chief of Navy, Chief of Army and Chief of Air Force

Drug Free Sport New Zealand

Chair and Members

Electoral Commission

Chief Electoral Officer, Chair and Deputy Chair

Electricity Authority

Chair and Members

Electricity Rulings Panel, Chair, Deputy Chair and Members

Employment Relations Authority

Chief and Members

External Reporting Board

Chair and Members

Office of Film and Literature Classification

Chief Censor of Film and Literature and Deputy Chief Censor of Film and Literature

Financial Markets Authority

Chair and Members and Associate members

Health and Disabilities Commission

Health and Disability Commissioner and Deputy Health and Disability Commissioners

Human Rights Commission

Chief Human Rights Commissioner, Disability Rights Commissioner, Equal Employment Opportunities Commissioner, Members and alternate members, Race Relations Commissioner and Director of Human Rights Proceedings

Independent Police Conduct Authority

Chair and Members

Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

Inspector-General and Deputy Inspector-General

Judicial Conduct Commission

Judicial Conduct Commissioner, Deputy Judicial Conduct Commissioner and Members of Judicial Conduct Panel (unless appointee is a judge)

Law Commission

President, Deputy President and Members

Masterton Trust Lands Trust

Chair, Committee Chairs and members

Mental Health and Wellbeing Commission

Chair and Members

Motor Vehicle Disputes Tribunal


New Zealand Security Intelligence Service

Chief Commissioner of Intelligence Warrants and Commissioner of Intelligence Warrants


Chief Ombudsman and Ombudsmen


Clerk of the House, Clerk and the Deputy Clerk of the House of Representatives


Office of the Auditor-General, Controller and Auditor-General and the Deputy Controller and Auditor-General


Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment, Commissioner

Parliamentary Counsel, Chief of Parliamentary Counsel

Parliamentary Service, Chief Parliamentary Service


Parole Board

Chair, Panel Convenors and Panel Convenors who hold a warrant as a District Court judge or a Judge of the High Court


Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner of Police

Principal Disputes Referee

Principal Disputes Referee

Privacy Commission

Privacy Commissioner and Deputy Privacy Commissioner

Productivity Commission

Chair and Commissioners

Public Services Commission

Public Services Commissioner and Deputy Public Services Commissioners

Retirement Commission

Retirement Commissioner

Sports Tribunal of New Zealand

Chair, Deputy Chairs and Members

Summary Appeal Court of New Zealand


Takeovers Panel

Chair and Members

Tenancy Tribunal

Principal Tenancy Adjudicator and Deputy Principal Tenancy Adjudicator

Te Tumu Paeroa

Māori Trustee

Transport Accident Investigation Commission

Chief Commissioner, Deputy Chief Commissioner and Commissioners

Waitangi Tribunal


Weather Tight Homes Tribunal